New software can track shared Netflix accounts

Share

But you have to pay a certain price to watch these web series, create an account and get a password. In other words, it will keep tabs on casual password sharing between friends and family as well as criminal enterprises or individuals who want to make money by reselling login credentials of payment channels or streaming services.

It seems like Netflix is trying to clamp down on people sharing accounts, with new software being introduced that will see other people using the account being blocked.

However British firm Synamedia's new Credentials Sharing Insight, exhibited at CES 2019, aims to "combat the rapid rise in account sharing between friends and families".

Media research firm Magid found that 26 per cent of millennials share passwords for video streaming services.

Netflix's CEO Reed Hastings has previously expressed no concern over the issue, noting that it's part of what makes streaming services so desirable. The company is now showcasing the solution at the Consumer Electronics Show (CES) 2019 in Las Vegas.

More news: Trump’s ex-lawyer Michael Cohen to testify publicly before House panel
More news: Padraig Harrington to lead Europe at 2020 Ryder Cup at Whistling Straits
More news: Federer breaks down in lovely tribute to late coach

In order for the software to work, a streaming service like Netflix, Hulu or HBO Now buys access to Synamedia's platform, which analyzes data from all its users.

Synamedia Credentials Sharing Insight is available as a cloud or on-premise offering.

Synamedia says that their credentials sharing solution is being used under trail by various different OTT service providers and we can expect them to deploy this system on their services very soon.

The system uses machine learning to analyse account activity and recognise unusual patterns, such as account details being used in two locations within similar time periods. This includes warning the primary user about the unauthorized usage of their account and giving them an option to switch to a premium account.

It is expected anything from sending an email alerting the user to more premium account models that allow more than one person to access the service to a complete account ban entirely are possible repercussions.

Share