Google quietly started logging people into Chrome without their consent

Share

However, this system worked exclusively for the logged-in Google accounts.

Before Chrome 69, this sync feature was already there for a long period.

Adrienne explains that this feature was created to prevent people from staying logged in to Google services on shared computers.

Matthew Green spotted that Google was logging them into Chrome without their knowledge.

Signing into Chrome can be done at any time, but typically occurs during the Chrome setup process. "Google may use content on sites you visit, plus browser activity and interactions to personalise Chrome and other Google services like Translate, Search and ads". This essentially means that the in-browser account fetches your Google details on its own, to enable the "Sync" feature. A Mashable piece summarizes her argument as basically that "Google decided to make this change... to put an end to any confusion users may have had when trying to sign out of public or shared devices".

But some also suggested that Google's move might have been planned well in advance.

Aside from a redesigned interface, the browser update automatically signs people into Chrome when they sign into a separate Google service such as Gmail, for instance.

We reached out to Google for comment and a spokesperson pointed us to another Twitter thread from Felt in which she explained that this change is meant to prevent multiple users from mistakenly believing they're logged in on a shared device. In his post "Why I'm done with Chrome", Green points out that a user would have had to be signed into Google Chrome to begin with for this to be a problem needing a fix to begin with. Signing into a Google service, by itself, does not do that, she added.

More news: Men: First Official Dark Phoenix Trailer Rises From the Ashes
More news: Trump to OPEC: Pay for your own military protection
More news: Donald Trump Accuses China of Interfering in American Midterm Elections

Despite the fact that this arrangement refresh may fulfill a few attorneys in Google's comfortable workplaces, this does not address the issue that Google has changed a Chrome include without telling clients, and that adjustment may prompt genuine protection breaks.

Google's newest Chrome update concealed a pretty big change to the browser's login requirements.

In response to the concerns, Google has updated its privacy policy. It's still confusing, though, as this screenshot indicates.

If you click the option to "Sync", your information is sent back to Google.

Google's privacy policy could be worded more clearly.

Until recently Google Chrome users have been able to use the browser without logging in. In the meantime, it's also possible to disable the forced sign-in by accessing the chrome://flags//#account-consistency page and disabling the Account Consistency option.

When the "Identity consistency between browser and cookie jar" flag is displayed, set it to Disabled.

Now, with this hot wire moving about like a bat out of hell, a large number of users are discontented with Google's auto-login mechanism.

Share