Now, WaBetaInfo (@wabetainfo), a Twitter account that tracks changes in WhatsApp's beta builds reported that the company has rolled out the same update for iOS users as well. "It is a bug fixes update but it has the new "Delete for everyone" limit, that is one hour, eight minutes and 16 seconds", read the information on the website on Tuesday.
Until now, people who were using modded or unauthorized versions of WhatsApp were able to delete messages on receiver's end that were three years old.
Users should head to the Apple App Store to get their hands on the latest version of WhatsApp, v 2.18.31.
So far, iOS is the only operating system that supports this feature, with Android and desktop still only supporting the seven-minute window. After tapping on that option, the message will disappear from your device and recipient's phone. You will be asked if you want to delete the selected messages only for yourself or for everyone. Today, the giant has updated the time Window and increased it with 1 hour, 8 Minute and 16 seconds.More news: European Union presses Britain to 'face up to hard facts' on Brexit
More news: South African cricket officials forced to apologise for Sonny Bill masks
More news: Myanmar Is Building Military Bases on Torched Rohingya Villages, Rights Group Says
It has been fixed as well and when a revoke request comes in, it will make sure the message was sent within 24 hours.
WhatsApp hasn't explained its reason for extending the time limit, but the new function could have a myriad of repercussions for users. Notably, this update also added the ability to include time or location stickers while editing a photo or video if you tap on the smiley icon.
Choosing "Delete for Me" will only remove the message for you - others in the chat will still be able to see it.
Have you ever sent a quick message that you quickly regretted?