Nidahas Trophy 2018, India vs Bangladesh, Final: Hits and Misses


Stay tuned for India vs Bangladesh final score, match result and highlights which will be updated on this page. The talented right-hander had a tumble while collecting the player-of-the-final award during the presentation ceremony, which was what Bangladesh wanted when he was raining those three sixes and two fours in an eight-ball blitzkrieg for a mere 29.

India's reply began on fifth gear, with both Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma unleashing themselves on the spin duo of Shakib and Medidy, who opened the bowling for Bangladesh.

Having won the toss, and electing to field first, the Indian team managed to restrict Bangladesh to 166 for the loss of eight wickets.

Set a target of 167 for victory, India lost in-form Shikhar Dhawan (10) and Suresh Raina (0) early in the chase.

India made it to the finals by winning three of the four games it played in Nidahas championship, whereas Bangladesh made it to the finals by beating Sri Lanka by two wickets in the game held on Friday.

India needed 34 runs of 12 balls when Dinesh Karthik came to bat. However Sabbir Rahman played a blinder (77 off 50) as India's pacers bore the brunt in the death overs.

His first five balls at Vijay Shankar yielded only one run and Manish Pandey (28) perished off the sixth trying to accelerate the contest.

WICKET! KL Rahul departs for 24 as India lose yet another wicket.

More news: Man Arrested For Bomb Threat Aimed At Saturday Night SXSW Show
More news: Watch Ohio State vs. Gonzaga March Madness
More news: Marvel heroes unite in new Avengers Infinity War trailer

WHAT AN OVER! It is Rohit Sharma all the way as he smacks two sixes and one four in this over.

Spinners Yuzvendra Chahal and Washington Sundar troubled the Tigers with their variations and picked up regular wickets.

In Mahmudullah (21), he found a steady ally and added 36 runs before a miscommunication saw the vice-captain getting run-out by Vijay Shankar.

There might be one change in the Indian line-up for the final game, Jaydev Unadkat was spotted bowling at the nets on the eve of the match in full form, and he should replace Mohammad Siraj. Shardul maintained his balance beautifully at the long-on boundary rope to cling onto the catch.

Hossain returned 2-35 in four overs despite his 22-run over which effectively cost his team the match.

Here we look at the key talking points of the match which had it all.

Bangladesh: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (w), Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam.