Rajasthan By-elections 2018 Result, Live Updates, Winners List of Ajmer, Alwar, Mandalgarh


Congress candidates have established an unassailable lead in Alwar and Ajmer Lok Sabha seats of Rajasthan. "This is the start of the end of BJP in the state", Rajasthan Congress chief Sachin Pilot tweeted after the results.

The Bharatiya Janata Party suffered a major blow to its aspirations of putting up a good showing once again in Rajasthan in the next assembly and Lok Sabha elections.

Rajasthan BJP chief Ashok Parnami told reporters: "We respect the people's mandate and we will analyse the reasons for our defeat". Singh received 1,11,729 votes, while CPIM's Gargi Chaterjee secured 35,497 votes, BJP's Sandip Banerjee 38,711 votes and Congress's Goutam Bose 10,527, reported News18. There were 18,42,992 voters in this Lok Sabha constituency. The result of this by-poll has gained prominence in view of the Assembly elections that are due later this year, in about seven months.

In Ajmer, the sitting MP Sanwar Lal Jat passed away on August 9 past year.

A total of 42 candidates were in the fray in the three seats.

More news: CDC Director Brenda Fitzgerald Resigns Amid Tobacco Investments
More news: Twitter had a discipline day with Rep. Joe Kennedy's lips
More news: Waymo buys thousands more Chrysler vans for driverless service

Incidentally, under Pilot, the Congress has also won a majority of seats in the by-elections to zila parishads, panchayat samitis and municipal wards in Rajasthan.

In West Bengal, Sajda Ahmed of Trinamool Congress won Uluberia Lok Sabha bypoll, beating her nearest rival Anupam Mallick (BJP) by over 4.74 lakh votes.

The bypolls are seen as a test of the popularity of the BJP government, which hopes to win a second straight term in assembly elections later this year. The BJP's Ram Swaroop Lamba had got 313,706 votes.

The TMC swept Noapara Assembly by 63000 votes and is still leading by a massive margin in Uluberia Lok Sabha seat.

Another former MP Bhanwar Jitendra Singh also played a key role in Yadav's victory, especially in weaning away a section of the Rajput community from the BJP. Congress came fourth with 10,527 votes.