If you turn off your feature, you will no longer be able to see anyone else's Last Active status.
Instagram's Last Active is not altogether a new feature, and is already available similarly in several popular apps like WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger. To disable this feature, go to Settings and scroll down to Show Activity Status and tap on the toggle button from blue to white. If you turn off your Activity Status, you won't be able to see other people's either.
The "Show Activity Status" setting has been automatically switched on for users, but it could just be a trial by Instagram to see what the response is.
We're always working on ways to make it easier to have fun, real-time conversation with friends on Instagram.
We've asked Instagram for comment on whether it thinks the feature should be turned on by default, and how it plans to address users' privacy concerns.More news: Alabama "out" of Amazon second headquarters consideration
More news: What's next for 13 siblings allegedly starved, held captive
More news: Neighbor charged with felony assault against Rand Paul
Instagram is known for adopting features from other social media apps - Instagram stories from Snapchat, Instagram Live from Facebook, and filters from Snapchat too. You can access Direct by swiping right on the homepage and the list of friends who have been chatting with you in past will show on the next page. For example, you could be shown as "Active now", "Active 1h ago", or "Active today". This feature is the same as the one on Facebook Messenger. While it may seem useful if you're tracking someone (in a non-stalker way we hope), without context, it can lead to issues if someone who sends you a DM that you didn't respond to sees you are still now active.
When checking the profile of someone you don't follow, but who follows you, Instagram now shows a "Follow Back" option instead of the simple "Follow".
While it's a cool new feature, I guarantee there are some of you who want to keep your Instagram viewing activity private, even from those you follow. The feature is only accessible in the Direct inbox though, so it won't be displayed in the main app to all followers.