Facebook-owned messaging platform WhatsApp has recently rolled out the most sought-after feature "Delete for Everyone".
Unfortunately, that appears not to be the case. Also, only messages for which a user has received notification can be seen.
According to the report, users running Android 7.0 Nougat or higher version can simply download a third-party app called Notification History to read deleted messages. The blog post reads, "What we found is that the messages are stored in the notification register of the Android system".
We weren't, however, able to recover any deleted messages that we hadn't seen or interacted with before they were deleted, which should come as a relief for everyone.
WhatsApp is among one of the most widely used applications.
The way this feature works is by tapping and holding on a message that's been sent in the last seven minutes and the option to "Delete" will appear.Читайте также: Cards Against Humanity buys a piece of the United States border
Despite the limitations on the ability to read deleted messages, the very fact that some part of a message that a person meant to delete can be recovered is problematic for users. So, it's just a matter of entering that record to see the messages that the other person deleted. It is also to be noted that once you restart your device, the notification log will be cleared. Should you go read messages that somebody obviously doesn't want you to read?
Regardless of whether you retrieve deleted messages via notification history or a backup app, you need to make sure WhatsApp notifications aren't disabled.
However, there are a few limitations to retrieve the messages as only those messages can be read that had generated a notification on your phone and only the first 100 characters of the deleted message can be read.
The report further adds that if users have installed Nova Launcher than there is no need to download a third-party app to access the deleted messages. For people who are running a stock version of stock Android, a Settings widget will give them access to notification log.
Gadgets 360 tried both the Notification History third-party app and the Activities method described above and discovered that the trick worked on an Android device.
If you thought WhatsApp's delete for everyone could be your saving grace for all those times you wished you had not sent that embarassing text to someone, well, think again.При любом использовании материалов сайта и дочерних проектов, гиперссылка на обязательна.
«» 2007 - 2017 Copyright.
Автоматизированное извлечение информации сайта запрещено.
Код для вставки в блог