New Zealand run chase narrowly fails, India wins series 2-1


Chahal soon spun into action to send Munro and Williamson trudging back to the pavilion as New Zealand stumbled in their chase.

Rohit scored 147 and Kohli was dismissed for 113 and it was their partnership which was the primary reason behind India's eventual score of 337.

History beckons for the Kiwis, with the decider of their three-match one-day worldwide series being held at Green Park, ironically in one of the country's most polluted cities on the western bank of the Ganges. The visitors have displayed resilience and fighting power to keep the three-match series alive till the decider, even though they could not make a match of it in the second ODI in Pune.

India vs New Zealand, 3rd ODI updates: Right then.

More news: Russian model Vlada Dzyuba works herself to death in China
More news: Gujarat CM demands Ahmed Patel's resignation over alleged link to IS suspect
More news: Bungie denies reports that innocuous apps led to PC Destiny 2 bans

Chasing 338 for victory, New Zealand faltered in their chase to end on 331-7 despite a gritty 52-ball 65 by Tom Latham, who was run out in the 48th over. He faced 138 balls and hit 18 fours and two sixes. It was played in great spirits, it's always to great to come here. While the whole team enjoyed some off time from their grueling schedule, five Indian players including Hardik Pandya and skipper Virat Kohli skipped the optional practice session ahead of the series decider.

Kohli whacked his 32nd ton after Williamson asked India to bat first, ensuring he eclipsed the milestone in just 194 innings - 11 less than South African AB de Villier's previous mark. "The quickly you rectify, the better it is", Rohit said. In 201 ODI matches including the Sunday game, Kohli has scored 9,030 runs including 32 centuries and 45 half-centuries.

New Zealand: Kane Williamson (C), Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, George Worker and Ish Sodhi.