Mohammed Siraj and Shreyas Iyer selected in T20I squad for NZ series


While Shreyas drew eyeballs for his impressive performance during India A's matches against New Zealand A and South Africa A, Siraj is known to have got the limelight after picking 10 wickets from six matches for Sunrisers Hyderabad in IPL 10. "With Siraj, he is doing well and has been duly rewarded", Prasad added. Iyer returned to India with the India A squad to play 4 unofficial ODIs against the Black Caps, enjoying a sensation run in the series the Delhi Daredevils batsman plundered 108, 82, 90 and 37 runs respectively to finish as India top scorer in the series. "We are monitoring the workload of the players, rotational policy will also apply to the captain", Prasad said. As expected, Virat Kohli will lead the team and Ashish Nehra will be a part of the squad only for the first T20I against the Kiwis as he retires at the Ferozeshah Kotla.

The national call-up was long awaited for Iyer who had finished IPL 2017 with astounding 338 runs averaging nearly 34. After a 1-1 series draw against Australia, the hosts will look to clinch a series win with the veteran pacer Ashish Nehra making his final appearance in global cricket for India. Prasad also made it clear that Nehra would be not assured of a starting spot in his farewell match with that decision being left up to the team management.

"See there is a lot of apprehensions going on about Ashish Nehra". Experienced wicket-keeper batsman Dinesh Karthik has also been sustained for the T20 series and will expect regular chances in future. The opening pair has been kept intact with Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma.

More news: Golmaal Again Box Office Collection Day 2: Beats Secret Superstar
More news: Penn State beats MI , 42-13
More news: OBC leader Alpesh to join Congress, two Hardik aides embrace BJP

Prasad stressed whether Nehra, 38, figures in the playing XI "is entirely up to the team-management and the selector on call".

Siraj did well against New Zealand A team before the start of the India-New Zealand series. In the spin department, the selectors continue to stick with Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel while Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja who have been included for Sri Lanka Tests.