India, Australia to play first T20 match in Ranchi today


Toss: Virat Kohli, the India captain, won the toss and chose to field against Australia in the first Twenty20 global at Jharkhand State Cricket Association Stadium in Ranchi on Saturday (October 7).

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is bowling from the other end now.

Cricket Australia said on Saturday that cricket captain Steve Smith will return home from the team's tour of India with a right shoulder injury. It arrived off a short ball that Maxwell pulled straight into the hands of short midwicket.

Bumrah and Kuldeep picked up two wickets each with both dismissals being "bowled". Just three runs from his second over as Glenn Maxwell plays and misses and survives.

Warner, who slammed two consecutive boundaries in the over by Bhuvneshwar, was sent back to pavilion for mere eight runs in the fifth ball.

In the last T20I bilateral series, India made a 3-0 clean sweep in Australia in January a year ago while they have lost only once out of the five series played between the two nations.

More news: Russian airstrikes kill ISIS warlords, dozens of militants in Syria - MoD
More news: Trump Focuses on Bravery of Responders During Las Vegas Visit
More news: NASA streams first of three October spacewalks

David Warner: Time to start fresh. Marcus Stoinis has been called in as a replacement for Steve Smith.

Kuldeep was happy with his maiden Man of the Match award.

Dhawan (15 not out) and Kohli (22 not out) helped India cross the line with three balls to spare.

The visitors' middle-order failed once again in Ranchi as Travis Head and Moises Henriques fell cheaply to Hardik Pandya and Yadav respectively. If that happens, Dinesh Karthik and KL Rahul will have to warm the benches. The yorker king struck twice in the same over by departing Nathan Coulter-Nile for a single run.

Uncapped left-arm speedster Jason Behrendorff, along with wicketkeeper-batsman Tim Paine, all-rounders Moises Henriques and Dan Christian are the new additions in Australia's T20I squad. Adam Zampa, meanwhile, is the only specialist spinner in their side.

For India, Axar Patel was ruled out and Kuldeep Jadhav came back, while Shikhar Dhawan replaced Ajinkya Rahane.