Sharing WiFi Password With iPhone Users Turns Easier Through iOS 11

Share

In its own documentation, the company says that "in iOS 11 and later, when you toggle the Wi-Fi or Bluetooth buttons in Control Center, your device will immediately disconnect from Wi-Fi and Bluetooth accessories".

The radios themselves, however, will keep humming in the background in a low-power state. So the choice is: update now and, on top of the usual point-zero Apple release bugs, lose access to Outlook and Exchange and have Wi-Fi and Bluetooth stuck on - or don't upgrade and don't get the security fixes.

Users of Apple's redesigned control centre, the quick screen for changing settings and controls found by swiping up from the bottom of the screen, have found the toggles for Bluetooth and Wi-Fi don't actually deactivate them.

Previously, toggling both connectivity options off in Control Center did what was expected. For instance, you can drag a location on a map into an email. Now, open Control Center, take a screen shot, and you can mark it up, with doodles and underlines. So if you have an Outlook account it's best to wait or download the Outlook app for iOS.

About 21 per cent of apps that request access to location on iOS 10 do so with the "always" permission, meaning the apps can use location services in the background.

More news: Catalonia independence: Spanish PM calls for end to 'radicalism'
More news: Three tropical systems are churning in the Atlantic this weekend
More news: Android One in the USA: Moto X4 with Project Fi

Completely disabling Bluetooth and Wi-Fi is possible, though. First, there's going to be an associated battery life hit. We hope Apple realizes the threat soon enough and comes up with an improvement for the operating system. This latest updated software brings a wide range of changes.

Turning off Wi-Fi or Bluetooth once we no longer use it has become a commonplace.

It's not really the dark mode that you were looking for, but head on to Accessibility in the Settings app and enable Smart Invert.

Eventually, devices in range will start to reconnect under a list of specific circumstances, that - and let's be clear on this - is not the same as if you turned the ruddy things off.

The only way to turn them completely off, it added, was to manually go into settings and switch them off. If you do use these peripherals and features, obviously this advice does not apply.

Share