Hurricane Jose hangs on in the Atlantic

Share

"On the forecast track, the center of Jose will remain well to the east-northeast of the Bahamas through Wednesday", the NHC said.

Jose's maximum sustained winds are 75 miles per hour, which barely register it as a hurricane on the Saffir-Simpson scale.

At 5 a.m. AST/EDT (0900 UTC), the center of Hurricane Jose was located near 26.1 degrees north latitude and 66.0 degrees west longitude.

The storm is now 655 miles northwest of Puerto Rico moving east at 6 mph, and is expected to loop to the southeast and southwest before it heads northwest by Friday.

More news: Utilities in US Southeast restore power to almost half hit by Irma
More news: Hurricane Irma Hits Southwest Florida Then Moves North
More news: Apple's Watch now a mobile phone, too

"This evolution will cause Jose to make a slow clockwise loop during the next 3 days and then turn northward and northwestward once it moves around the western side of the ridge", forecasters wrote this morning. Because of the shear, it is not expected to gain much strength and may perhaps weaken a little over the next five days.

An animation of NOAA's GOES East satellite imagery from September 11 at 8:15 a.m. EDT (1215 UTC) to September 13 ending at 8:30 a.m. EDT (1230 UTC) was created by the NASA/NOAA GOES Project at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Maryland.

Meteorologists described Hurricane Jose as a non-threat to parts of Florida and Texas that have endured back-to-back hurricanes Harvey and Irma.

Share