13 players recalled from CPL, English county for National T20 Cup


The Pakistan Cricket Board today threw a spanner into the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) T20 tournament now underway when it abruptly revoked No-Objection Certificates given to 13 players now in England and the West Indies and has asked them to return home to fulfill national and domestic commitments.

PCB said in an official statement that players were issued NOCs on the condition of World XI series and domestic commitments.

Diplomatic tensions between the two nations have prevented the neighbours from playing a bilateral series since 2007, apart from Pakistan's tour to India in 2012-2013 when they played a short limited-overs series.

The team had been heading to the Gaddafi Stadium for the third day of a Test match with Pakistan.

Miandad, on the other hand, also urged the newly-appointed PCB chairman Najam Sethi to hire former or first-class cricketers as presidents of associations and zones in order to improve the game in the country.

More news: Pakistan's 'Mother Teresa', Dr Ruth Pfau, Dies
More news: Vessel Aground in St Marys River
More news: Samsung's next fitness device, Gear Sport, pops up in FCC filing

The tournament that will take place in Malaysia will include eight teams including the automatic qualifiers, Pakistan, India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has chose to call back the centrally-contracted players from their ongoing Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and English county stints.

According to the release, the series was set to conclude in the final week of September, but constituency elections slated for September 17 and Pakistan's upcoming series against Sri Lanka in UAE starting September 24 forced the ICC to change the dates of the World XI series.

However, a series between Pakistan and Sri Lanka scheduled for September and October is still likely to be played in the UAE. "The players have been asked to report for a pre-series fitness testing/training camp, as planned by the national team management and the National T20 tournament that starts in Multan on August 25".