Presidential elections: Narendra Modi says confident about Ram Nath Kovind's victory


The meeting, attended by opposition candidates for presidential and vice-presidential elections - Meira Kumar and Gopalkrishna Gandhi, took place on the eve of presidential election.

A rebel Congress legislator and six sacked Trinamool Congress (TMC) MLAs on Monday voted for NDA's presidential nominee Ram Nath Kovind.

She described the electoral contest as the opposition's fight against a "narrow-minded, divisive and communal vision" while addressing a gathering of opposition parties here where its presidential and vice presidential nominees, Meira Kumar and Gopal Krishna Gandhi respectively, were formally introduced. The Untouchability-free India campaign 2047, initiated by city-based NGO Navsarjan Trust which works for the upliftment of the Dalit community, will be launched at Nani Devti village on Sanand-Bavla road in Ahmedabad on Saturday. A total of 32 polling stations - one in Parliament House and one each in the state legislative Assemblies - have been set up.

Parrikar said that he has requested all the 38 legislators in Goa to extend support and vote Kovind, as the presidential poll has always been above party politics.

More news: United Kingdom chancellor Philip Hammond irks may with sexist remark
More news: No decision on NDA vice presidential candidate yet
More news: White House planning 'Made in America Week'

Both Kovind and Kumar held a series of meetings across states to mobilise support for their candidature. "We requested all MLAs, MPs of the party to support for Ram Nath Kovind". The votes would be counted and results would be announced on July 20. "We had announced it earlier itself because we can not vote for a candidate who was supported by CPI-M", Sudip Burman, leader of the group of sacked TMC MLAs told reporters. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, who are yet to resign from the Lok Sabha, voted in the respective Assemblies.

The poll panel has also specifically asked everyone to use only violet ink to cast votes.

Following this, the President elect will subsequently leave for Rashtrapati Bhawan after the oath taking ceremony convened by the Chief Justice of India of July 25. Use of any other ink might lead to disqualification of the vote.

"Because all MPs don't necessarily vote only according to conscience, they also vote according to party lines and party lines are divided somewhat on ideology, principles and political positioning".