IIFA Awards 2017: Shahid Kapoor, Alia Bhatt win top awards


The 18th edition of the International Indian Film Academy awards ended on a high with Udta Punjab winning four awards on Saturday night.

The 18th edition of the awards ceremony that celebrates the achievements of Bollywood in different cities across the world is a three-day extravaganza that started from July 13 and is being held at the iconic MetLife Stadium in NY.

The hosts for the ceremony were Saif Ali Khan and Johar, who had the audience in splits with their amusing one-liners and banter. She played the role of a Bihari migrant girl in the movie.

Raabta co-stars Sushant Singh Rajput and Kriti Sanon performed together on songs from their recently released film. Bollywood celebrities like Salman Khan, Katrina Kaif, Sonakshi Sinha and Varun Dhawan were a part of the grand event.

Shahid Kapoor and Alia Bhatt walked away with the Best Actor awards for their film Udta Punjab. Aniruddha Roy Chowdhury got the award for Best Director for his film Pink.

One of the most prestigious award shows of Bollywood, IIFA (International Indian Film Academy Awards) has already taken place in NY.

More news: Telegram blocks 'terrorist-related' channels after Indonesia ban
More news: Baby Named Justin Trudeau Meets Prime Minister Justin Trudeau
More news: Another blunder for United as airline sends rapper's dog to wrong city

Alia Bhatt was declared the Style Icon Of the year, a breather from Sonam Kapoor who has won endless awards for the same category now.

Ae Dil Hai Mushkil dominated the music categories.

Other nominees in the field included Karan Johar for "Ae Dil Hai Mushkil, ' Neeraj Pandey for 'M.S. Dhoni, ' Ram Madhvani for 'Neerja, ' Ali Abbas Zafar for 'Sultan" and Abhishek Chaubey for 'Udta Punjab'.

The award for Best Music Direction went to Pritam while Varun Dhawan won the award for Best Actor In Comic Role.

Anupam Kher won the award for Best Actor in Supporting Role (Male) for his performance in M.S. Dhoni: An Untold Story while Shabana Azmi bagged the Best Actor in Supporting Role (Female) for her performance in Neerja.

Please Wait while comments are loading.