West Indies announces 13 member squad for first two ODIs against India


Due to poor ranking points, West Indies missed out on the Champions Trophy qualification for the first time.

West Indies have named an unchanged 13-man squad for the first two One-day Internationals (ODIs) of a five-match series against India, opting for continuity after the 1-1 result against Afghanistan earlier in June.

According to ESPNcricinfo, the selectors chose to retain the same squad in order to maintain continuity, after they drew the three-match series versus Afghanistan 1-1.

The hosts will be without their premier fast bowler Shannon Gabriel since he is still rehabilitating from an injury that forced him out of the Afghanistan series.

More news: Despite tweeting he's under investigation, Trump lawyer says he's not under investigation
More news: Special counsel probe turns to Jared Kushner's business dealings, report says
More news: Whom to believe, Trump or his lawyer?

While the West Indies clashed with Afghanistan, India were involved in the Champions Trophy, where they made it to final before losing to Pakistan by 180 runs. The Men in Blue will also play with the same squad of Champions Trophy with Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah being the only two players to be rested.

The other significant development is that Anil Kumble has agreed to go to the West Indies.

India: Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Yuvraj Singh, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shamo, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Dinesh Karthik, Kuldeep Yadav.

West Indies are expected to play a warm-up game against a Trinidad and Tobago XI on Tuesday.