Amir, Fakhar star as Pakistan rout India for Champions Trophy title


Team India may have failed to defend its Champions Trophy title against arch-rival Pakistan on Sunday, but captain Virat Kohli has certainly won many hearts across the border with his post-match presentation address.

The lowest-ranked team in the eight-nation one-day global tournament, their group campaign started with a 124-run thrashing by India at Edgbaston on June 4.

Fakhar hit 12 fours and three sixes before skying a catch off Hardik Pandya but Pakistan, who upset hosts England in the semi-finals, had the ideal platform to make the highest total in a Champions Trophy final.

Left-hander Fakhar Zaman, playing in only his fourth ODI, smashed 114 off 106 balls and top-scored in Pakistan's 338-4, before India crumbled to 158 all out.

Fakhar and Azhar combined for 128, the first consecutive opening century partnerships by Pakistan in 14 years. Azam (46), Mohammad Hafeez (57 not out) and Imad Wasim (25 not out) then made sure Pakistan reached the insurmountable total.

The win also gives Pakistan their first 50 over trophy since the World Cup back in 1992, and will certainly go some way to moving them out of their current 8th spot in the world ODI rankings.

India defeated Pakistan mostly in major ICC tournament matches so far in the history of the game. "Hopefully, we can post more than 300", Sarfraz said.

More news: Aerialist daredevil set to hang by teeth from chopper over Niagara Falls
More news: Restoring powersharing the priority as Brexit talks begin, says Irish minister
More news: 3 held for betting racket during India-Pakistan Champions Trophy match

After India had won the toss, Fakhar, on three, was caught by wicketkeeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni off a Jasprit Bumrah no ball and the 27-year-old left-hander took full advantage to make his first worldwide century.

The victory ends India's hopes of becoming the first team to capture the title three times.

Pakistan captain, Sarfraz Ahmed, lifts the Champions Trophy with his team-mates.

Pakistan, ominously made to bat first - the team batting first lost six of the seven previous finals - racked up a final-record innings of 338-4, founded on a 128-run opening stand between Fakhar Zaman, who earned his maiden one-day worldwide century with 114, and Azhar Ali, whom Fakhar helped to run out on 59.

He removed India's top three batsmen - Rohit Sharma (0), Shikhar Dhawan (21) and Kohli (5).

India captain Kohli conceded Pakistan were worthy winners and, while he claimed to be proud of his players, his admission that the new champions played with more passion was a damning indictment.

Talking about team changes - Mohammad Amir returned to replace debutant Rumman Raees while the Indian squad remained unchanged. Despite Hardik Pandya's 76 from 43 deliveries down the order, India could not rebuild after Amir's brilliance, and were beaten by 180 runs.