IPL 2017: MI vs RPS - Star of the Match - Washington Sundar


Mumbai plays the victor of the Wednesday's eliminator between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders for a shot in the final against Pune. Can they also be the first team to progress to the Final? However, Mumbai Indians ended up on the losing side and the KXIP won the match by 7 runs.

Dhoni has had his critics during the tournament, but the former India captain will play in a record seventh IPL final after bludgeoning a brutal unbeaten 40 off only 26 balls to get Pune up to 162-4.

However, Mumbai Indians failed to capitalise on this start.

Mumbai brought back their premier pace bowlers in Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga and Mitchell McClenaghan but surprisingly left out veteran off-spinner Harbhajan Singh. But on Tuesday, the Wankhede wicket played more true to its character, rewarding good bowling. In the last 10 matches, it stands at just 8.03.

Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) have 3-1 win-loss record against Mumbai Indians (MI). The victor of the match will then face the loser of the Qualifier 1 on May 19 in the second Qualifier. But, RPS need to grow up to win their next games of this IPL 2017 playoffs.

More news: Britain lowers terror threat level as more arrested
More news: CCTV photo released of killer on day of Manchester bombing
More news: Celebs and Musicians Mourn the Death of Rock Legend Gregg Allman

Mumbai would be the clear favorites in this match especially because of the way they have performed in this season.

Rising Pune Supergiant: Steve Smith (captain), Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wicketkeeper), Rahul Tripathi, Ajinkya Rahane, Manoj Tiwary, Dan Christian, Adam Zampa, Shardul Thakur, Ankush Bains, Lockie Ferguson, Jaydev Unadkat, Usman Khawaja, Milind Tandon, Saurabh Kumar, Iswar Pandey, Jaskaran Singh, Deepak Chahar, Rahul Chahar, Rajat Bhatia, Baba Aparajith, Mayank Agarwal, Ankit Sharma, Ashok Dinda.

Mumbai Indians take a lot of leverage from their batting which has been firing on all cylinders in this season of IPL, with the likes of Rohit Sharma, Kieron Pollard, Parthiv Patel, Lendl Simmons and Nitish Rana among their ranks, who can take apart any bowling attack on any given day.

When asked what will be his team's approach in tomorrow's do-or-die game, 23-year-old Tewatia said, "In a way the upcoming game is going to be finals for us, we will play our best cricket and hope for the best result", Tewatia told PTI over phone. RPS will be without two of their key performers as they head to the playoffs; the all-rounder Ben Stokes and Imran Tahir have parted ways with the team to join up with their respective national teams.