Ethiopia's champions in Boston to defend marathon titles


It was Evans's 19th Boston Marathon and his 52nd overall.

Kirui finished with a time of 2:09:37, edging out American Galen Rupp, for his first Boston Marathon victory.

"In my mind, I was sure that one day I would win this race", said Kirui, 25, who was running just his third marathon.

Now, 50 years later, Kathrine Switzer will return to the Boston Marathon starting line wearing the same number an official tried to rip off her clothing in the 1967 race.

More than 30,000 runners will participate in the 26.2 mile race that ends at Copley Square in Boston.

Kirui led another Kenyan sweep when two times former World marathon champion Edna Kiplagat won the women's race in 2:21:53, beating Kenyan born Rose Chelimo of Bahirain to second place in 2:22:51.

She's won in London, New York City and Los Angeles.

Kiplagat, a 37-year-old mother of two from Kenya, won in an unofficial time of 2:21:52, with Rose Chelimo of Bahrain second in 2:22:51 and Jordan Hasay of the USA third in 2:23:00. "We're putting more numbers in there and it's just a matter of time", said Linden, the 2011 runner-up by 2 seconds.

Atsede Baysa and Lemi Berhanu Hayle both from Ethiopia pose for a photograph after winning the 120th Boston Marathon.

Also in the men's race, former Ducks Shadrack Biwott was fourth in 2:12.08 and Luke Puskedra, who lives in Eugene, was ninth in 2:14.45.

More news: Atletico and Leicester both relatively satisfied with result
More news: Lorde debuts new material in surprise gig before Coachella
More news: Goffin beats fellow Belgian Darcis at Monte Carlo Masters

Marcel Hug won the men's push-rim wheelchair division for the third straight year, finishing in 1:18:03, a world record.

The winners' times are considered a world best and not a world record.

Gibb is working on a new sculpture - a life-sized bronze that she hopes will be the first of a woman along the Boston Marathon course.

Update 10:50 a.m.: The Boston Athletic Association announces the victor of the women's push-rim: Manuela Schar of Switzerland.

Pablo Eduardo is a MA resident and internationally known sculptor.

Plans are in the works for memorials to mark the sites where two bombs exploded during the 2013 Boston Marathon.

Update 10:40 a.m.: The Boston Athletic Association announces the victor of the men's push-rim: Marcel Hug.

The elite women start at 9:32 a.m., and the elite men and the rest of wave one get underway at 10 a.m.

The 121st running of the Boston Marathon is officially underway with the mobility impaired athletes.

Security will be tighter than before the 2013 bombings, but race director Dave McGillivray is hoping things are getting back to normal after three races without incident.